So, where do I begin?

I was scrolling through Netflix and I stumbled upon this intriguing documentary called Minimalism: A Documentary About The Important Things. I was bored and really had nothing to do so I decided that my boyfriend and I were going to watch it (because I always get to choose). I was originally sceptical, I thought that “I could never do that, it would be far too difficult” but after watching the full hour and nineteen minutes of the film I was sold.

What really got to me was that the films subjects – Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemu – just seemed so definitively happy and free of all the stresses of modern life. I realised that maybe that’s what I needed in my life. A fresh slate. A new start.

If you’re not sure what minimalism (or simple living) is then hopefully these quotes will help:

I am intentionally trying to live with only the things I really need.” – Joshua Becker

If you desire to live with fewer material possessions, or not own a car or a television, or travel all over the world, then minimalism can lend a hand. But that’s not the point.” – Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemu

It means you are not taking advantage of all that is available in the modern world today.” – Brian Gardner

This drastic change in my lifestyle isn’t going to be instant; I’m not just going to suddenly throw everything I own away. I want to start my journey with something called Project 333…

xoxo

Leave a comment