Being more with less! My Project 333

I could never just get rid of everything I own in an instant. I’m not that heartless, but I figured I might as well jump right in and get started with Project 333.

Project 333 is a minimalist fashion challenge; the rules are that you dress with 33 items for 3 months*. Now, I own a hell of a lot of clothes and shoes, most of which I don’t actually wear, so I thought that a good wardrobe overhaul would be a perfect place to start.

The only trouble I might have found with this project is that I really like to buy clothes (especially sweaters); but since I’ll be confined to only 33 pieces I won’t be able to buy any clothes – which will save me a lot of money.  Trouser-wise, I only really wear two pairs of jeans – one being a pair of black skinny jeans and the other embroidered mom jeans – so I don’t need to cut down on them.

I’m not going to lie when I started the process of sorting through my clothes I had a little lump in my throat, it felt like the end of an era; which was surprising because I’ve never been one of those people who gets sad about throwing things away. When I lived at home I used to get rid of things so easily, much to my mum’s dismay – I still have a box in my room at home with things she didn’t let me throw away “because you might use them again”… I didn’t! I just had to tell myself that I’m not getting rid of them forever – then it became a lot easier.

About half-way through the process I made the decision to donate some of my clothes to charity. Choosing the clothes to donate was actually pretty easy because a lot of my clothes, I don’t actually wear as they’re just not my style anymore so what’s the point in keeping them.

Above are my 33 chosen items minus black skinny jeans, green parka and a denim jacket. I chose items that’ll be suitable for summer, going out clothes (including a ball dress), a parka for when it will inevitably rain and clothes that are suitable for my placement.

I have to admit looking in my wardrobe makes me feel about 10 pounds lighter now. It’s precise and has everything I’ll need; this might get difficult for me along the way but right now it feels good.

*Note – sentimental items, underwear, pyjamas, workout clothes (only allowed to wear them to workout) and work uniform (because I have no choice in wearing it) don’t count in the 33 items.

xoxo

For more info on Project 333 click here ——–> http://bemorewithless.com/project-333/

Leave a Reply

