Too much denim.

Five days in to the challenge I realised I made a big mistake in picking my jackets. My black skinny jeans needed washed and it was too warm for my parka. I was left with a choice of leggings or my denim mom jeans and as I’m on placement I wasn’t going to turn up in my leggings. So, jeans it was. I didn’t realise what I’d done until after I looked in the mirror and saw the double denim… oh the horror.

FullSizeRender

I remember when wearing double denim was a cardinal sin; and just hearing those two words together would conjure up bad feelings (disgust, dread etc.) and of course the worst memories e.g. this monstrosity.

The 28th Annual American Music Awards

Well, not anymore – it’s made a comeback… Actually, it made a comeback a while ago but I’m just paying attention now.

Double denim is something I swore I’d never do but here I am. It’s not that I don’t like it, I just always thought I’d look ridiculous; but I see loads of people rocking double denim, so why shouldn’t I be confident about wearing it.

Luckily, my jacket is a light blue and my jeans are darker so it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I still don’t think I’d wear it out of choice if I had more options but I’ve realised double denim isn’t the end of the world; at least it’s not socks and sandals.

I’m not sure if I’m sold just yet but I’m not totally against it now. One thing for sure though is that Project 333 is definitely making me step outside my comfort zone.

Here’s my do and don’t for wearing double denim:

DO mix up the shades – maybe don’t go for the same colour of denim it will more than likely be way too much.

boots-923189_1920

DON’T use JT and Britney for style inspiration.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

