Ballin’ on a budget.

Okay so this seems more like a beauty post and I’m not really qualified to talk about that but oh well… I’m going to anyway!

Last Saturday I had a ball (literally and figuratively), anyway it was my uni’s Student Achievement Award Ball (I won something…yaaaay). So obviously, I needed a dress which luckily I had already included in my 33 items because I bought it in London long before the ball. The only thing I still had to get was shoes; I completely forgot about that. I am so ashamed to say that after buying the shoes it puts me at 34 items but we’ll just forget about that.

IMG_0438
New Look

Normally if I had an event coming up I would use this an excuse to buy new makeup – but not with this new lifestyle. I refrained myself and only used what I already had.

First up is the moisturiser I use; it’s not actually a moisturiser, it’s a nourishing lotion. I unfortunately have eczema so normal moisturising products just don’t react well with my skin. Luckily after lots of searching I finally found the perfect product for my skin and I honestly don’t know what I’d do without it. The exact same goes for my foundation, I’ve always struggled with getting the right one for my face because of the eczema but my MAC ‘Pro Longwear Foundation’ has been a lifesaver. It doesn’t go all blotchy and orange it just stays the exact same from the moment I put it on; as MAC makeup comes in loads of different shades my pale skin has been able to say its normal pale self with NW15. My only issue with MAC is that its not vegan but i’ll not get into that.

IMG_0430.JPG
Aveeno, MAC, NYX

If anyone knows me they know that I’m all about the brows. They are my absolute favourite and I used to think “the bigger the better” but after constant nagging from my mum I decided to tone it down – the size and the colour. All I had were really dark gels but for Christmas Rory (my boyfriend) got me Benefit’s ‘Bigger & Bolder Brows Kit’ – doesn’t really sound like that would tone them down but they have.

IMG_0429.JPG
Benefit

For brushes I went all out last year and bought the Spectrum Collections ‘Attention Seeker’ 10 piece set; a lot of money but definitely worth it because they’re so soft and best of all vegan.  Below are the brushes I used for the ball – they are needing a clean so no judgement please.

IMG_0426
Spectrum Collections

The last things I’m gonna talk about are my ‘Strobe of Genius Illuminating Palette’ from NYX and my Yves Saint Laurent ‘Grenat Satisfaction – Rouge Pur Couture The Mats’ lipstick. The highlighter is perfect, magical and the best thing I’ve ever bought. Enough said. I got the YSL lipstick from my friends for my 21st birthday and its so pretty and it’s a matte lipstick and who doesn’t love matte?

IMG_0436
Yves Saint Laurent

Didn’t want to bombard everyone with lots of products so here’s a quick gallery of the other ones.

xoxo

P.S. below are the links to some of the featured products…

MAC ‘NW15 Pro Longwer

Spectrum Collections ‘Attention Seeker

Benefit ‘Bigger & Bolder Brows Kit

NYX ‘Strobe of Genius Illuminating Palette

Yves Saint Laurent ‘Grenat Satisfaction – Rouge Pur Couture The Mats

Leave a Reply

